UART (JTagulator) auto-scan

One of the nice features of the JTAGulator is the ability to auto-detect which pins are UART or JTAG pins. I believe the BP5 doesn’t need to have these pins hard-wired to specific pins. I’d be interested in trying to develop code that could auto-detect the UART pins, although I’m no expert. Does this sound like a reasonable project?

That sounds like an excellent project. I have JTagulator on my list - I believe you mentioned it on Twitter? I checked it out a while back and it seems like it wouldn’t be a problem to install it as a mode on the bus pirate. Though the low pin count would make the probing process a bit more tedious. The chips I saw it ported too didn’t have a huge numbers of ios (if I recall).

But, I read your post as maybe the Bus Pirate is the target? Using the Bus Pirate as a hacking target for other tools is also something I’m interested in.

#define BP_DEBUG_UART_0 uart0
#define BP_DEBUG_UART_0_TX BIO4
#define BP_DEBUG_UART_0_RX BIO5
#define BP_DEBUG_UART_1 uart1
#define BP_DEBUG_UART_1_TX BIO0
#define BP_DEBUG_UART_1_RX BIO1   

The RP2040 UARTs are available on two sets of pins. BIO0/BIO1 and BIO4/BIO5.

The PIO can be used with the UART example from the SDK, which is available on any pin.

There are 8 PIO state machines (if you disable the LEDs), so there can be 8 RXs or 8 TXs or any combination.

Yes, I can picture using the DP5 as a tool to identify UART/JTAG ports. But I’m a noob with PIO, so I have a big learning curve.

1 Like

The SDK examples are pretty complete. It has the function for loading the PIO program and then the examples how to use it.

If it’s a stumbling block, I can integrate the example code into a mode that you can use.

For example:

// Console output (also a UART, yes it's confusing)
    setup_default_uart();
    printf("Starting PIO UART RX example\n");

// Set up the hard UART we're going to use to print characters
    uart_init(HARD_UART_INST, SERIAL_BAUD);